Evidence taken on antimicrobial resistance

26 February 2014

On Wednesday 26 February the Commons Science and Technology Committee holds its fourth evidence session on the inquiry into antimicrobial resistance (AMR).

The first panel will answer questions relating to research into antimicrobial resistance and antimicrobial technologies.

The second panel will answer questions about the commercial development of antimicrobials.


Wednesday 26 February 2014; Grimond Room, Portcullis House

At 9.15 am

  • Professor Jeremy Farrar, Director, Wellcome Trust
  • Professor Sir John Savill, Chief Executive Officer, Medical Research Council (representing the Research Councils UK)
  • Kush Naker, Policy and Advocacy Co-ordinator, Universities Allied for Essential Medicines UK
  • Professor Sir Anthony Coates, Professor of Medical Microbiology, Antibiotic Discovery UK

At 10.15 am

  • Dr Louise Leong, Head of Research and Development, Association of the British Pharmaceutical Industry (ABPI)
  • James Anderson, Director, European Partnerships, GSK
  • Dr David Williams, Chief Executive Officer, Discuva
  • Michael McIntyre, Chair, European Herbal and Traditional Medicine Practitioners Association

Further evidence sessions will be announced in due course.

Further information

Image: iStockphoto

More news on: Parliament, government and politics, Parliament, Science and technology, Science, House of Commons news, Commons news, Committee news

Share this page