Scientific advice and evidence in emergencies

This inquiry has now reported

Inquiry and Reports

The Committee agreed on 27 July 2010 to inquire into scientific advice and evidence in emergencies. The Committee published its report on Wednesday 2 March 2011. The Government's response was published on 17 May 2011. A supplementary Government response was published on 14 June 2011. The Committee held a follow-up evidence session on 15 June 2011.

Follow-up oral evidence

  • Wednesday 15 June 2011
    Professor Sir John Beddington, Government Chief Scientific Adviser, Christina Scott, Director, Civil Contingencies Secretariat, Cabinet Office, and Julia Longbottom, Head of China Team, Foreign and Commonwealth Office

Original inquiry Terms of Reference

Scientific advice and evidence in emergencies inquiry terms of reference

Oral evidence

The following five oral evidence sessions are printed with the Committee's Report published on 2 March 2011:

  • Wednesday 1 December 2010
    Professor Sir John Beddington, Government Chief Scientific Adviser;
    Lord Adonis, former Secretary of State for Transport, and Rt Hon Andy Burnham MP, former Secretary of State for Health;
    Rt Hon Baroness Neville-Jones, Minister of State for Security, and Rt Hon David Willetts MP, Minister of State for Universities and Science

  • Wednesday 17 November 2010 (on cyber security)
    Professor Ross Anderson, Professor of Security Engineering, University of Cambridge, Robert Hayes, Senior Fellow, The Microsoft Institute for Advanced Technology in Governments, Malcolm Hutty, Head of Public Affairs, London Internet Exchange (LINX), and Professor Peter Sommer, Visiting Professor, London School of Economics; 
    Dr Steve Marsh, Deputy Director, Office of Cyber Security and Information Assurance, Cabinet Office, Professor Bernard Silverman, Chief Scientific Adviser, Home Office, and Professor Mark Welland, Chief Scientific Adviser, Ministry of Defence

  • Wednesday 10 November 2010 (on space weather)
    Professor Paul Cannon FREng, Royal Academy of Engineering, Professor Mike Hapgood, Royal Astronomical Society, and Chris Train, Network Operations Director, National Grid;
    Professor Brian Collins, Chief Scientific Adviser, Department for Business, Innovation and Skills, Phil Evans, Director of Government Business, Met Office, Paul Hollinshead, Director of Science and Innovation Group, and Phil Lawton, Downstream Gas and Electricity Resilience Manager, Department of Energy and Climate Change

  • Wednesday 3 November 2010 (on volcanic ash)
    Ray Elgy, Head of Licensing & Training Standards, Civil Aviation Authority, Dr Guy Gratton, Royal Aeronautical Society,Dr Sue Loughlin, Head of Volcanology, British Geological Survey, and Captain Tim Steeds, Director of Safety & Security, British Airways;
    Professor Brian Collins, Chief Scientific Adviser, Department for Transport, Dr Miles Parker, Deputy Chief Scientific Adviser, Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs, and Professor Julia Slingo, Chief Scientific Advisor, Met Office

  • Wednesday 20 October 2010 (on the swine flu pandemic in 2009)
    Professor Sheila Bird, Vice-President (2006-09), Royal Statistical Society, Professor Neil Ferguson OBE, Director, MRC Centre for Outbreak Analysis and Modelling, Justin McCracken, Chief Executive, Health Protection Agency, and Dr Peter Holden, British Medical Association; 
    Sir Liam Donaldson, Former Chief Medical Officer, Professor Sir Gordon Duff, Chair of the Scientific Pandemic Influenza Advisory Committee, and Professor David Harper CBE, Chief Scientist, Department of Health