The Census and social science

The Committee agreed on 9 November 2011 to launch a new inquiry examining the Census and social science.

Terms of Reference

Census and social science inquiry terms of reference.

Oral evidence (uncorrected)

Wednesday 18 January 2012
Richard Bartholomew, and Jenny Dibden, Joint Heads of the Government Social Research Service

Wednesday 14 December 2011  
Professor Tim Allen, Local Government Association, Aleks Collingwood, Joseph Rowntree Foundation, Professor David Martin, Royal Statistical Society, and Professor Phil Rees, Royal Geographical Society; Adrian Alsop, Director of Research and International Strategy, and Jeremy Neathey, Deputy Director of Policy, Economic and Social Research Council, Glen Watson, Census Director, and Peter Benton, Deputy Director, Office for National Statistics

Wednesday 7 December 2011
Professor David Blane, Deputy Director, ESRC International Centre for Life Course Studies, Professor Heather Joshi, President, Society for Lifecourse and Longitudinal Studies, and Professor Les Mayhew, City University

Written evidence

The Committee invited written submissions on the terms of reference by 30 November 2011.

The Census and social science written evidence; PDF version (PDF PDF 2.91 MB)