Astronomy and Particle Physics

This inquiry has now reported

Inquiry and Reports

The Committee agreed on 26 January 2011 to launch a new inquiry examining astronomy and particle physics. The Committee published its report on Friday 13 May 2011.  

The Committee received responses to its report from the Government and the Science and Technology Facilities Council. The Committee published these responses on Tuesday 19 July.

Terms of Reference

Astronomy and Particle Physics inquiry terms of reference

Oral evidence

  • Wednesday 16 March 2011
    Professor Phil Allport, Head of Particle Physics and Director of the Liverpool Semiconductor Detector Centre, University of Liverpool, Professor Mike Bode, Director of the Astrophysics Research Institute, Liverpool John Moores University, Professor Robert C. Kennicutt, Jr., Plumian Professor of Astronomy and Experimental Philosophy Director, Institute of Astronomy, University of Cambridge, Professor John Peacock, Head of the Institute for Astronomy, University of Edinburgh, Professor Steve Rawlings, sub-Department of Astrophysics, Oxford University, and Professor Andrei Seryi, Director, John Adams Institute for Accelerator Science; Professor Keith Mason, Chief Executive of the Science and Technology Facilities Council (STFC), and Sir Adrian Smith, Director General, Knowledge and Innovation, Department for Business, Innovation and Skills

  • Wednesday 9 March 2011
    Anna Barth, Camden School for Girls, London, Jack Bliss, Allerton Grange School, Leeds, Jessica Grainger, Saints Peter and Paul Catholic College, Widnes, Hilary Lamb, Stroud High School, Gloucestershire, James May, Castell Alun High School, Hope (nr. Wrexham), and Charlie Palin, Neston High School, Cheshire;
    Dr. Maggie Aderin-Pocock, Space Scientist, Astrium Ltd and Science Innovation Ltd, and Professor Jim Al-Khalili, Professor of Physics, Professor of Public Engagement in Science, University of Surrey; 
    Professor Dame Jocelyn Bell Burnell, President, Institute of Physics, and Professor Roger Davies, President, Royal Astronomical Society