Ensuring standards in legislation Oral and Written Evidence

Oral evidence:

The first evidence session was on Thursday 10 May when the Committee heard from Daniel Greenberg, lawyer and former member of the Office of the Parliamentary Counsel (Corrected transcript)

The second evidence session on Thursday 14 June 2012 heard from Richard Heaton, First Parliamentary Counsel, and David Cook, Second Parliamentary Counsel (Corrected transcript)

    The third evidence session on Thursday 21 June 2012 heard from the Better Government Initiative: Lord Butler, and Sir Nicholas Monck and Nat le Roux from the Constitution Society (corrected transcript)

    The fourth evidence session on Thursday 5 July 2012 heard from Dr Ruth Fox, Hansard Society; Professor Dawn Oliver, Emeritus Professor of Constitutional Law, UCL; and Mr Mark Ryan, Senior Lecturer in Constitutional and Administrative Law, Coventry University
    (corrected transcript).

    The fifth evidence session: on Thursday 13 September 2012 heard from The Rt Hon Nick Raynsford MP, Lord Maclennan of Rogart and Lord Norton of Louth (corrected transcript)

    The sixth evidence session was held on Thursday 18 October 2012 (second part of the session) with Sir David Lloyd Jones, Chairman, Elaine Lorimer, Chief Executive, and Adrian Hogarth, Parliamentary Counsel, of the Law Commission (corrected transcript) (PDF 56.33 MB)

    The seventh and final evidence session was held on Thursday 10 January 2013 at 12.00 pm with the Rt Hon. Andrew Lansley CBE MP, Leader of the House of Commons, Lord Privy Seal; and Adam Pile, Head of the Parliamentary Business and Legislation Secretariat, Economic and Domestic Secretariat, Cabinet Office (Corrected transcript