List of Chair candidates finalised

10 June 2019

The final list of the candidates running for position of Chair of the Northern Ireland Affairs Committee has been published.

Northern Ireland Affairs Committee

Ahead of a secret ballot on Wednesday 12 June to elect the Chair of the NI Affairs Committee, the final list of candidates and, the MPs who have nominated them, is available to read here.

Three nominations have been received.

At the beginning of a Parliament, Chairs of Committees are allocated to different parties, depending on the number of MPs they have in the House. This means the Chair of the NI Affairs Committee must be a Conservative MP. MPs from all parties can vote in the election.

The ballot will be counted under the Alternative Vote system and Members will vote by ranking as many candidates as they wish in order of preference.

As set out by the Speaker, the election will be held in Committee Room 16 from 10am to 1.30pm on Wednesday 12 June. The results are expected to be announced by the Speaker, the Rt Hon John Bercow, as soon as possible after the ballot closes.

The vacancy arose following the resignation of Dr Andrew Murrison as Chair.

Further information

Image: Parliamentary copyright

More news on: Parliament, government and politics, Parliament, House of Commons news, Members of Parliament, Commons news, Northern Ireland, Committee news

Share this page