Dr Andrew Murrison elected as Chair

10 July 2017

The new Chair of the Northern Ireland Affairs Committee is Dr Andrew Murrison.

Following nominations and elections among MPs, Dr Andrew Murrison has been elected Chair of the committee for the 2017 Parliament.

The secret ballot of MPs took place on Wednesday, 12th July. Votes were counted under the Alternative Vote system.

The full list of elected committee chairs for the new Parliament was announced in the House of Commons by the Speaker, the Rt Hon John Bercow. All successful candidates are listed here.

Dr Andrew Murrison will formally take up position as chair of the committee when the remaining members of the committee have been named by the House.

Here is a breakdown of the result:

1st round
Nigel Mills 200
Dr Andrew Murrison 330 Elected

Further information

Image: Parliamentary copyright

Share this page