Chair nominations for Northern Ireland Affairs Committee

Nominations for the Chair of the Northern Ireland Affairs Committee have now closed. The ballot will be held on Wednesday 12 June from 10 am to 1.30 pm. On this page, you can find the final list of nominees.

Nominated by (own party)

Dr Caroline Johnson, Tom Pursglove, Philip Davies, Mike Wood, Eddie Hughes, Julia Lopez, Damien Moore, Paul Scully, Andrew Lewer, Robert Courts, Mr Iain Duncan Smith, Mr William Wragg, Royston Smith, Michael Fabricant, Ms Nadine Dorries

Relevant interests declared

Chair of the Conservative Ireland Association; Vice-Chair of the Irish in Britain APPG


I wish to express my willingness to serve as the Chairman of the Northern Ireland Affairs Committee and therefore put myself forward to stand for this vacant position.

Having served on the Northern Ireland Affairs committee since 2017 I have extensive knowledge, experience and the right skills to chair the NIAC during what is a critical time for Northern Ireland as it continues to be without a devolved Government during the Brexit process. I have also served as a previous member of the British Irish Parliamentary Assembly and I am vice chair of the All-Party Parliamentary Group; Irish in Britain.

My interest in Northern Ireland stems from my family connections to the Republic of Ireland, where the sensitivities for all communities and the historical perspective are well known. Regularly visiting both Northern Ireland and the Republic of Ireland I have extensive and personal knowledge of the cross-border issues and how important it is for people living and working on both sides of the border that it remains open as it is today.

If elected to the position of Chairman of the Northern Ireland Affairs Select Committee I want to continue the good work the committee is currently doing in scrutinising several devolved areas of responsibility while there is no assembly. The committee is often the only avenue for people in Northern Ireland to raise concerns as we have heard during recent enquiries on education, RHI and health. I want this to continue so we shine a light on the issues that matter to people. I also want to urgently address the outstanding issue of historical institutional abuse and the prosecution of armed forces personnel which many colleagues have raised in the Chamber as urgent and outstanding issues.

In addition, I want the committee to highlight and look at the potential of Northern Ireland going forward and to ensure that investment and potential success in business, sport and tourism are harnessed. I also want to ensure that issues of equality are addressed and that as a committee we play our part in helping to restore devolution. I believe that being an authoritative and knowledgeable voice on Northern Ireland will be a key skill that is essential for the next Chairman of the Northern Ireland Affairs Committee to possess.

I believe that I am the right candidate to chair the Northern Ireland Affairs Committee as I have the knowledge, passion, experience and skills required for this role. 

Nominated by (own party)

Sir Nicholas Soames, Chris Heaton-Harris, Damian Green, Robert Halfon, David Duguid, Sir Roger Gale, Alec Shelbrooke, John Stevenson, Sir Desmond Swayne, Tom Tugendhat, Luke Hall, Sarah Newton, Robert Neill, Mr Jacob Rees-Mogg, Nicky Morgan

Nominated by (other parties)

Stephen Doughty, Siobhain McDonagh, Mr Alistair Carmichael, Carolyn Harris, Stewart Malcolm McDonald 


Nominated by (own party)

Mr Nigel Evans, Simon Hart, Sir Mike Penning, Mr Ian Liddell-Grainger, John Lamont, Mrs Maria Miller, Sir Gary Streeter, David T. C. Davies, Mr David Jones, Sir Michael Fallon, Stephen Crabb, David Morris, Crispin Blunt, Gillian Keegan, Anne-Marie Trevelyan

Nominated by (other parties)

Mr Khalid Mahmood, Mr Jim Cunningham, Paula Sherriff, Kate Osamor, Jack Dromey, Mr David Drew 

Further information

Image: Parliamentary copyright