Liaison Committee takes evidence from the Prime Minister

14 January 2014

The Prime Minister, Rt Hon David Cameron MP, appears before the Liaison Committee to discuss violence against women and girls, and energy policy and environmental priorities.


Tuesday 14 January 2014, Grimond Room, Portcullis House 

At 4.00pm

  • Rt Hon David Cameron MP, Prime Minister


The issues likely to be raised include:

Violence against women and girls

  • International development and action to tackle violence against women and girls
  • Preventing sexual violence in conflict
  • Sexual harassment in the armed forces 
  • Female genital mutilation – nationally and internationally 
  • Child sexual exploitation 
  • Human trafficking/modern day slavery 
  • UK implementation of international agreements 
  • Domestic violence 
  • Sex education and the role of schools
  • Housing and the benefits system

Energy policy and environmental priorities

  • Energy security and blackouts
  • Investor confidence
  • The risks posed by electro-magnetic pulses
  • Energy subsidies and fuel poverty
  • Environmental priorities
  • Shale gas
  • Community engagement and scientific advice

Members attending

The session is chaired by Rt Hon Sir Alan Beith MP (Lib Dem) and is also likely to involve the following Select Committee Chairs:

  • Mr Graham Allen MP, Political and Constitutional Reform (Lab)
  • Rt Hon James Arbuthnot MP, Defence (Cons)
  • Dame Anne Begg MP, Work and Pensions (Lab)
  • Rt Hon Sir Malcolm Bruce MP, International Development (Lib Dem)
  • Mr William Cash MP, European Scrutiny (Cons)
  • David T C Davies MP, Welsh Affairs (Con)
  • Dr Hywel Francis MP, Joint Committee on Human Rights (Lab)
  • Miss Anne McIntosh MP, Environment, Food and Rural Affairs (Con)
  • Andrew Miller MP, Science and Technology (Lab)
  • Rt Hon Keith Vaz MP, Home Affairs (Lab)
  • Joan Walley MP, Environmental Audit (Lab)
  • Tim Yeo MP, Energy and Climate Change (Con)

The evidence session is expected to last for one and a half hours.

The Liaison Committee is made up of the Chairs of House of Commons Select Committees.

Further information

Image: Parliamentary copyright

More news on: Parliament, government and politics, Parliament, House of Commons news, Commons news, Committee news, Energy and environment

Share this page