Robert Neill elected Chair

12 July 2017

The new Chair of the Justice Committee is Robert Neill.

Following nominations and elections among MPs, Robert Neill has been elected Chair of the committee for the 2017 Parliament.

He was the sole nomination for the position and was therefore declared elected, unopposed.

The full list of elected committee chairs for the new Parliament was announced in the House of Commons by the Speaker, the Rt Hon John Bercow. The full list of Committee Chairs is here.

Robert Neill will formally take up position as chair of the committee when the remaining members of the committee have been named by the House.

Speaking after the announcement of his election, Robert Neill said:

“It is a real honour, as well as an important responsibility, for me to be back as Chair of the Justice Committee.  I look forward to the other members of the Committee being appointed: then we will get down to business. We will need to consider resuming unfinished work from the last Parliament, and people are welcome to submit new ideas for subjects for us to look at.”

Further information

Image: Parliamentary copyright

Share this page