Angus Brendan McNeil elected Chair

12 July 2017

The new Chair of the International Trade Committee is Angus Brendan MacNeil.

Following nominations and elections among MPs, Angus Brendan MacNeil has been elected Chair of the committee for the 2017 Parliament.

He was the sole nomination for the position and was therefore declared elected, unopposed.

The full list of elected committee chairs for the new Parliament was announced in the House of Commons by the Speaker, the Rt Hon John Bercow. The full list of Committee Chairs is here.

Angus Brendan MacNeil will formally take up position as chair of the committee when the remaining members of the committee have been named by the House.

Angus Brendan MacNeil said:

"I'm delighted to have been elected by the House to this hugely important role. The Department for International Trade has been tasked with nothing less than making a success of Brexit.

So its policies, the way it organises itself and how it spends public money should be subject to stringent scrutiny.

That is the task for me and the Committee, and I look forward to beginning work on it soon with colleagues from across the political spectrum."

Further information

Image: Parliamentary copyright

Share this page