Home Affairs Committee takes evidence on policing large-scale disorder from Home Secretary

08 September 2011

Following on from the evidence session on policing large-scale disorder: lessons from the disturbances of August 2011 held on Tuesday 6 September 2011 the Commons Home Affairs Committee holds a further oral evidence session on Thursday 8 September with the Home Secretary.


At 10am

  • Rt Hon Theresa May MP, the Home Secretary

From 11am

Local MPs and their constituents who were affected by the disorder:

  • Nick De Bois MP for Enfield North
  • David Lammy MP for Tottenham
  • Jane Ellison MP for Battersea
  • Khalid Mahmood MP for Birmingham Perry Barr
  • Shabana Mahmood MP for Birmingham Ladywell

Session held on Tuesday 6 September

The committee held an oral evidence session on Tuesday 6 September 2011.

Purpose of session

The session gives the committee the opportunity to explore the causes of and response to the rioting at the beginning of August. The principal focus of this session will be on London and the Metropolitan Police, but there will be a chance to focus on other towns and cities in subsequent evidence sessions.

This session also enables the committee to discuss arrangements for loaning officers between forces and police tactics more generally, and to consider the role of ACPO in tackling the disorder. 

Finally, the committee will have the opportunity to assess the role of the Independent Police Complaints Commission.

Committee Chair Rt Hon Keith Vaz MP said:

"The rioting that took place across England at the beginning of August was unprecedented.  The committee is determined to try and find out why these terrible sets of events occurred and to ascertain what steps will be taken to prevent similar disorder happening again.

This will be a valuable opportunity to talk to senior policemen and officials and get their perspective on the events and the response to them."


At 10.15am

  • Boris Johnson, Mayor London, and Kit Malthouse, Deputy Mayor with responsibility for policing

At 11am

  • Acting Commissioner Tim Godwin, and Assistant Commissioner Lynne Owens, Metropolitan Police

At 11.30am

  • Sir Hugh Orde, President, and Chief Constable Tim Hollis, Vice-President, Association of Chief Police Officers. 

At 12 noon

  • Len Jackson, Interim Chair, and Deborah Glass, Deputy Chair, Independent Police Complaints Commission

Further information

Image: Parliamentary copyright

More news on: Crime, civil law, justice and rights, Parliament, government and politics, Parliament, Crime, Emergency services, Police, Public order offences, Commons news, London, Committee news

Share this page