Yvette Cooper elected Chair

12 July 2017

The new Chair of the Home Affairs Committee is Yvette Cooper MP.

Following nominations and elections among MPs, Yvette Cooper has been elected Chair of the committee for the 2017 Parliament.

She was the sole nomination for the position and was therefore declared elected, unopposed.

The full list of elected committee chairs for the new Parliament was announced in the House of Commons by the Speaker, the Rt Hon John Bercow. The full list of Committee Chairs is here.

Yvette Cooper will formally take up position as chair of the committee when the remaining members of the committee have been named by the House.

Further information

Image: Parliamentary copyright

Share this page