Yvette Cooper elected Chair of Home Affairs Committee

19 October 2016

Yvette Cooper has been elected as Chair of the Home Affairs Committee, the Speaker has announced. All Members of Parliament were able to vote in the election, which took place between 10am and 1.30pm on Wednesday 19 October. Votes were counted under the Alternative Vote System. The full results are listed below.

Breakdown of results

Total 1st round valid votes: 541 

1st round 2nd round 3rd round
Yvette Cooper 216 235 281 Elected
Caroline Flint 149 161 196
Paul Flynn 65 - -
Mr Chuka Umunna 111 112 -
Not redistributed - 23 41 (64)

Chair's comment

Following her election as Chair of the Home Affairs Select Committee, Yvette Cooper MP said:

"I am delighted to have been elected by MPs from right across the House as Chair of the Home Affairs Select Committee.

I look forward to working with everyone on the Committee and across Parliament. At a time when patterns of crime are changing, community cohesion is under pressure, the security threat is ongoing and the Brexit deal will have implications for policing and immigration, there is important work for the Home Affairs Select Committee to do."

Image: Dods/Parliamentary copyright

Share this page