Drugs Policy inquiry - further information


The Committee published its report on 10 December 2012.

Government Response

The Government responded to the Committee's report on 7 March 2013.

Oral evidence

Tuesday 30 October 2012
Baron Turner of Ecchinswell and Tracey McDermott, Director, Enforcement and Financial Crime Division, Financial Services Authority

Tuesday 10 July 2012 
Danny Kushlick, Transform Drug Policy Foundation, and Niamh Eastwood, Release; Chief Constable Tim Hollis, Association of Chief Police Officers, and Tom Lloyd, former Chief Constable of Cambridgeshire; Trevor Pearce, Director General, Serious and Organised Crime Agency

Tuesday 3 July 2012
Richard Bradshaw, Director of Offender Health, and Digby Griffith, Director of National Operational Services, National Offender Management Service; Rt Hon Kenneth Clarke QC MP, Lord Chancellor and Secretary of State for Justice

Tuesday 19 June 2012
Professor David Nutt, Independent Scientific Committee on Drugs and Dr Les King, a former ISCD and former Advisory Council on the Misuse of Drugs Member; Dr Les Iversen, Professor Ray Hill and Annette Dale-Perera, Advisory Council on the Misuse of Drugs

Tuesday 24 April 2012
Russell Brand and Chip Somers; Mary Brett, Kathy Gyngell and Peter Hitchens

Thursday 22 March 2012
Dr Owen Bowden-Jones, Chair, Faculty of Addictions, Royal College of Psychiatrists; Dr Clare Gerada, Chair, Royal College of GPs, Professor Averil Mansfield Chair of the Board of Science, British Medical Association; Paul Hayes, Chief Executive, National Treatment Agency

Tuesday 21 February 2012
Paul Tuohy, Mentor and Maryon Stewart, the Angelus Foundation; Wendy Dawson, the Chief Executive of the Ley Community, Dominic Ruffy, Rehab Grads, Adam Langer; Prof. John Strang, Director of the National Addictions Centre

Tuesday 24 January 2012
Richard Branson and Ruth Dreifuss, Global Commission on Drugs Policy; Dame Ruth Runicman (Chair) and Roger Howard (Chief Executive), UK Drugs Policy Commission