Chair nominations for Home Affairs Committee

Nominations close for Chair elections.

One nomination was received for the position of Chair of the Home Affairs Committee.

As the only candidate for the position, Yvette Cooper will be declared to be elected unopposed when the Speaker announces the result of the Chair elections after the ballot held on Wednesday 12 July.

The elected MP takes up their position as Chair of the Committee when the remaining members of the committee have been appointed by the House.
The period of nomination ran from 4th July until 3pm on Friday 7 July, 2017. 

Nominated by (own party)

Margaret Beckett, Ms Harriet Harman, Shabana Mahmood, Edward Miliband, Angela Rayner, Seema Malhotra, Mr Khalid Mahmood, David Hanson, Jess Phillips, Rushanara Ali, Diana Johnson, Keir Starmer, Bambos Charalambous, Mr Virendra Sharma, Keith Vaz

Nominated by (other parties)

Mrs Maria Miller, Joanna Cherry, Jo Swinson, Tim Loughton, Mr Ranil Jayawardena

Relevant interests

Chair of Reclaim the Internet – cross-party campaign on online abuse. Chair of Fabian Commission for Work.

Image: Parliamentary copyright