Dr Sarah Wollaston elected Chair

11 July 2017

The new Chair of the Health Committee is Dr Sarah Wollaston.

Following nominations and elections among MPs, Dr  Sarah Wollaston has been elected Chair of the committee for the 2017 Parliament.

Dr Wollaston was the sole nomination for the position and was therefore declared elected, unopposed.

Speaking after the announcement of her election, Dr Wollaston said:

"I'm delighted to be returned as the Chair and look forward to working with MPs from across the Commons on behalf of those who use health services now and in the future."

The full list of elected committee chairs for the new Parliament was announced in the House of Commons by the Speaker, the Rt Hon John Bercow. The full list of Committee Chairs is here.

Dr Wollaston will formally take up position as chair of the committee when the remaining members of the committee have been named by the House.

Further information

Image: Parliamentary copyright

Share this page