Chair nominations for Health Committee

Nominations close for Chair elections

One nomination was received for the position of Chair of the Health Committee.

As the only candidate for the position, Dr Sarah Wollaston will be declared to be elected unopposed when the Speaker announces the result of the Chair elections after the ballot held on Wednesday 12 July.

The elected MP takes up their position as Chair of the Committee when the remaining members of the committee have been appointed by the House.

The period of nomination ran from 4th July until 3pm on Friday 7 July, 2017.

Nominated by (own party)

Dr Dan Poulter, Jo Churchill, Peter Aldous, Michelle Donelan, Mr Philip Hollobone, Mr Richard Bacon, John Howell, Mims Davies, John Penrose, Neil Parish, Mrs Maria Miller, Mr Charles Walker, Crispin Blunt, Zac Goldsmith, Rebecca Pow

Nominated by (other parties)

Dr Philippa Whitford, Mr Ben Bradshaw, Meg Hillier, Bridget Phillipson, Paula Sherriff

Relevant interests

My husband is a consultant NHS forensic psychiatrist and registrar of the Royal College of Psychiatrists. Both my daughters will soon be taking up posts as junior doctors in the NHS.

Image: Parliamentary copyright