Tom Tugendhat elected as Chair

10 July 2017

The new Chair of the Foreign Affairs Committee is Tom Tugendhat.

Following nominations and elections among MPs, Tom Tugendhat has been elected Chair of the Committee for the 2017 Parliament.

Speaking after the announcement of his election, Mr Tugendhat said:

"I am honoured to have been elected by the House to chair the Foreign Affairs Committee.

Foreign policy is not just a job for the government but for all of us in Parliament. We need to reaffirm alliances and renew the confidence of our friends. We need to review our interests and focus our efforts on ensuring our allies know where we stand - a firm friend and trusted partner. 

I welcome the opportunity to serve our country as Chair of the cross-party Foreign Affairs Committee. I look forward to working with colleagues to create a new strategic approach for the Committee and the work we produce."

The secret ballot of MPs took place on Wednesday, 12th July. Votes were counted under the Alternative Vote system.

The full list of elected committee chairs for the new Parliament was announced in the House of Commons by the Speaker, the Rt Hon John Bercow. All successful candidates are listed here.

Tom Tugendhat will formally take up position as Chair of the Committee when the remaining members of the Committee have been named by the House.

Here is a breakdown of the result:

1st round
Mr John Baron 71
Crispin Blunt 184
Tom Tugendhat 317 Elected

Further information

Image: Parliamentary copyright

Share this page