Hilary Benn elected Chair of Exiting the European Union Committee

19 October 2016

Hilary Benn has been elected as Chair of the Exiting the European Union Committee, the Speaker has announced. All Members of Parliament were able to vote in the election, which took place between 10am and 1.30pm on Wednesday 19 October. Votes were counted under the Alternative Vote System. The full results are listed below.

Breakdown of results

First round valid votes: 539

1st round
Hilary Benn 330 Elected
Kate Hoey 209
Not redistributed -

Image: Dods/Parliamentary copyright

Share this page