Mary Creagh elected Chair

11 July 2017

The new Chair of Environmental Audit Committee is Mary Creagh MP.

Following nominations and elections among MPs, Mary Creagh has been elected Chair of the committee for the 2017 Parliament.

She was the sole nomination for the position and was therefore declared elected, unopposed.

The full list of elected committee chairs for the new Parliament was announced in the House of Commons by the Speaker, the Rt Hon John Bercow. The full list of Committee Chairs is here.

Mary Creagh will formally take up position as chair of the committee when the remaining members of the committee have been named by the House.

Mary Creagh said:

"I am delighted to be re-elected Chair of Parliament’s cross-party green watchdog, the Environmental Audit Committee. Solving environmental problems like air pollution, plastic waste and wildlife loss is vital if we want to leave a better world for our children".

The environment was conspicuously absent from the Queen's speech. I am determined it will not be ignored in the Brexit negotiations."

Further information

Image: Parliamentary copyright

Share this page