Common Fisheries Policy - Further information

Back to Common Fisheries Policy main inquiry page


The Report was published on 24 February 2012. Copies of the transcripts can be found at the back of the Report as well as witnesses' written evidence.

Oral and Written Evidence

Thursday 8 December 2011

Location: Stade Hall, Hastings, East Sussex - Listen to the webcast

Witnesses: East Sussex fishermen: David Scott, FPO Board Member and past President of the National Federation of Fishermen’s Organisations, Bill Brook, South Western Fish Producer Organisation, Paul Joy, co-chair of the New Under Ten Fishermen’s Association and South-East representative, Graham Doswell, New Under Ten Fishermen’s Association South-East representative and chairman of Eastbourne’s fishermen’s association; Adam Whittle, Billingsgate Seafood  School, Philip MacMullen Seafish

Wednesday 7 December 2011 - view webcast

Witnesses:  Richard Benyon MP, Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State for Natural Environment and Fisheries, Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs and Defra officials.

Wednesday 9 November 2011 - View webcast

Witnesses: World Wildlife Fund (WWF); Royal Society for the Protection of Birds (RSPB); and South Western Fish Producer Organisation

Wednesday 2 November 2011  - View webcast

Witnesses: Richard Lochhead MSP, Cabinet Secretary for Rural Affairs and the Environment, Scottish Government, Linda Rosborough, Director, Marine Scotland, and Mike Palmer, Deputy Director Fisheries, Marine Scotland; and Peter Hajipieris, Chief Technical, Sustainability & External Affairs Officer, Iglo Foods Group Ltd

Thursday 27 October 2011 - View webcast

Witnesses: Oral evidence from Maria Damanaki, Commissioner, DG Maritime Affairs and Fisheries, European Commission

Tuesday 25 October 2011 - View webcast

Witnesses: National Federation of Fishermen's Organisations; the Scottish Fishermen's Federation; and the New Under Ten Fishermen’s Association

Tuesday 18 October 2011 - View webcast

Witnesses: Professor Alex Rogers, University of Oxford; and the New Economics Foundation

Terms of reference

The Committee announced the inquiry on 19 July 2011 and published terms of reference