Emissions Performance Standards Inquiry

Power station
13 October 2010

MPs to question Minister on emissions performance standards. 

On Tuesday 19 October in Committee Room 17, Palace of Westminster, the Committee will hear from:

At 10.15 am

  • Matthew Farrow, Head of Energy, Transport and Planning, CBI
  • Dr Jeff Chapman, Chief Executive, The Carbon Capture and Storage Association
  • Dr John McElroy, Chairman, Environment Committee, Association of Electricity Producers

At 11.15 am

  • Charles Hendry MP, Minister of State, DECC
  • Jonathan Holyoak, Head of Strategy, Office of Carbon Capture and Storage, DECC
  • Richard Sargeant, Head of Energy Futures, DECC
  • Will Francis, Assistant Head, Strategy Policy Coordination, Office of Carbon Capture and Storage, DECC

The session will cover a broad range of issues, including:

  • Why an emissions performance standard (EPS) might be needed in the UK
  • How an EPS could be designed in order to be most effective
  • How an EPS could fit in with other reforms to the electricity market
  • Whether an EPS could influence international efforts to tackle climate change

Image: iStockphoto

Share this page