Chair nominations for Energy and Climate Change Committee

On Thursday 4 June 2015, nominations opened for Select Committee Chairs. On this page you can find the full list of nominees for the Energy and Climate Change Committee, which is updated daily during the nomination period. The Committee Chair will be a member of the Scottish National Party. Nominations close at 5pm on Wednesday 10 June. The ballot will be on Wednesday 17 June from 10am to 5pm.

Nominated by (own party)

Ms Tasmina Ahmed-Sheikh, Peter Grant, Hannah Bardell, Joanna Cherry, Dr Eilidh Whiteford, John Mc Nally

Nominated by (other parties)

Huw Irranca-Davies, Alec Shelbrooke, Bill Wiggin, Mr Jim Cunningham, Mrs Sharon Hodgson


I recognise that as Chair of the Energy and Climate Change Committee we would have many challenges ahead but I look forward to shaping and driving forward the work of the committee over the next five years. While I recognise it is a challenging time for the energy industry it is also a very exciting time to be working on this committee. Energy and Climate Change is an issue which is of great importance to my constituency Na h-Eileanan an Iar, to Scotland and to the UK as a whole.

I understand that the portfolio of work of the committee is dynamic and ever changing but I will strive to achieve the best possible outcome and to greatly improve the consumer’s situation. I will do this by working across party lines to coordinate and achieve these outcomes for the public, whose interests will be at the heart of our work.

It was an honour to previously serve on the Scottish Affairs Committee under Mohammed Sarwar, experience which I will carry forward and expand upon in this role as Chair. In the previous Parliament I have highlighted issues such as fuel poverty in the chamber and look forward to raising awareness of this and many more issues in the future.

The previous Energy and Climate Change committee did a lot of work surrounding the electricity market reform implementation which I would like to see continued. I believe that the committee plays a vital role in holding the UK government to account but also those with a vested interest in energy producers to ensure consumer needs are met, as well as Government targets being achieved. One of the most important targets the government now faces is achieving 15% of our energy from renewables by 2020. The outcomes of the International Climate Change Talks in Paris in 2015 will also be vital in shaping the work of the committee as well as the current noises from the Department for Energy and Climate Change regarding onshore wind which needs further scrutiny.

I would like to commend the work of the previous committee members who served in the last Parliament for the good work that they did during that time. We need to continue to improve trust and competition within the energy market to ensure consumers receive the best deal and I look forward to standing up for consumers in this role.