Evidence session into The Administration of the Department for Education

08 September 2011

At 9am, the Committee takes evidence from four Non-Executive Board Members from the Department for Education at 9.50am.


At 9.00am

  • Anthony Salz, Executive Vice-Chairman, Rothschild
  • Theodore Agnew, Non-Executive Director, Jubilee Managing Agency Ltd
  • Dame Sue John DBE, Headteacher, Lampton School, Hounslow
  • John Nash, Non-Executive Partner, Sovereign Capital

At 9.50am

  • Sir Michael Barber, Chief Education Adviser, Pearson
  • Zoe Gruhn, Director of Leadership, Institute for Government

Purpose of the session 

Since the General Election in May 2010, the management and governance of Whitehall Departments has changed significantly. Ministers are now on Departmental Boards, and more non-executive members have been appointed. Now that the new arrangements have become embedded, the Education Select Committee is taking evidence from the DfE’s four non-executive members: Anthony Salz, Theodore Agnew, Dame Sue John, and John Nash. The session is likely to cover the non-executives’ roles, as well as their views on the running and governance of the DfE.

Following the non-executives’ evidence, the Committee will hear from two experts on Whitehall governance – Sir Michael Barber, the Chief Education Adviser at Pearson, and Zoe Gruhn, Director of Leadership at the Institute for Government – who will offer their perspectives on the reforms.

Further information

Image: iStockphoto

Share this page