Robert Halfon elected as Chair

10 July 2017

The new Chair of the Education Committee is Robert Halfon.

Following nominations and elections among MPs, Robert Halfon has been elected Chair of the committee for the 2017 Parliament.

The secret ballot of MPs took place on Wednesday, 12th July. Votes were counted under the Alternative Vote system.

The full list of elected committee chairs for the new Parliament was announced in the House of Commons by the Speaker, the Rt Hon John Bercow. All successful candidates are listed here.

Robert Halfon will formally take up position as chair of the committee when the remaining members of the committee have been named by the House.

Here is a breakdown of the result:

1st round 2nd round 3rd round 4th round 5th round
Nick Boles 129 137 153 178 213
Rehman Chishti


- - - -
Robert Halfon 136 141 152 185 261 Elected
Tim Loughton 101 104 116 - -
Stephen Metcalfe 63 67 - - -
Dr Dan Poulter 109 112 127 155 -
Not redistributed 10 23 53 97

Further information

Image: Parliamentary copyright

Share this page