Social work educators and experts questioned on social work reform

14 April 2016

The Education Committee takes evidence from social work educators and experts as part of its inquiry into Social Work Reform.


Wednesday 20 April 2016, Grimond Room, Portcullis House

At 9.45am

  • Samantha Baron, Chair, Joint University Council Social Work Education Committee
  • Brigid Featherstone, Co-President, Association of Professors of Social Work
  • Dame Moira Gibb, Chair, Skills for Care
  • Josh MacAlister, Chief Executive, Frontline

At 10.40am

  • Dr Ruth Allen, Chief Executive, British Association of Social Workers
  • Annie Hudson, former Chief Executive, The College of Social Work
  • Marc Seale, Chief Executive and Registrar, Health and Care Professions Council
  • June Thoburn, Emeritus Professor of Social Work, University of East Anglia

Focus of the session

The session is broadly themed around the education, development, and retention of children’s social workers following the announcement of the Government’s strategy (PDF PDF 288 KB) in January. The Committee plans to question witnesses on areas such as:

  • The expansion of accelerated programmes in initial education such as Frontline and Step Up to Social Work
  • The future of University-run social work education
  • The Government’s proposed Assessment and Accreditation of all children’s social workers
  • The availability and delivery of post-qualifying training and development
  • The retention 'crisis' in children’s social work
  • The Government’s proposed creation of a new regulatory body with additional responsibility for professional development

Further information

Image: iStockphoto

Share this page