Damian Collins elected Chair

12 July 2017

The new Chair of the Culture, Media and Sport Committee is Damian Collins MP

Following nominations and elections among MPs, Damian Collins has been elected Chair of the committee for the 2017 Parliament.

Damian Collins was the sole nomination for the position and was therefore declared elected, unopposed.

The full list of elected committee chairs for the new Parliament was announced in the House of Commons by the Speaker, the Rt Hon John Bercow. The full list of Committee Chairs is here.

Damian Collins will formally take up position as chair of the committee when the remaining members of the committee have been named by the House.

Following his election, Damian Collins MP said:

"I'm looking forward to resuming the committee's important work on doping in sport, fake news and the impact of Brexit on the creative sector."

Further information

Image: Parliamentary copyright

Share this page