Chair nominations for Culture, Media and Sport Committee

Nominations close for Chair elections.

One nomination was received for the position of Chair of the Culture, Media and Sport Committee.

As the only candidate for the position, Damian Collins will be declared to be elected unopposed when the Speaker announces the result of the Chair elections after the ballot held on Wednesday 12 July.

The elected MP takes up their position as Chair of the Committee when the remaining members of the committee have been appointed by the House.

The period of nomination ran from 4th July until 3pm on Friday 7 July, 2017.


Nominated by (own party)

Mr John Whittingdale, Mrs Cheryl Gillan, Mr Sam Gyimah, Robert Neill, Helen Whately, Julian Knight, Mrs Pauline Latham, James Cleverly, Victoria Prentis, David T.C. Davies, Kelly Tolhurst, Bim Afolami, Dr Thérèse Coffey, Rehman Chishti, Jo Churchill

Nominated by (other parties)

Christian Matheson, Julie Elliott, Paul Farrelly, Mrs Sharon Hodgson, Brendan O'Hara


I am standing for re-election as Chair of the Digital, Culture, Media and Sport Select Committee. The Committee has recently focused on a number of important issues, including doping in sport - particularly in cycling and athletics, dealing with rip-off ticket touts, the future of the BBC, press regulation, investment in arts and culture outside London, the football child abuse scandal, the impact of Brexit on the creative industries and tourism, homophobia in sport, and accessibility of sports stadia. Before the election, the Committee was also preparing a new inquiry to look at the scourge of fake news and the social responsibility of media companies like Google, Facebook and Twitter to help tackle it. I want to continue with this important work as Chairman of the Committee.

As the MP for Folkestone and Hythe, I know how important culture and tourism is to so many communities and businesses. I have seen the potential for the arts and creative industries to support the regeneration of our towns. As Chairman of the Folkestone ‘Step Short’ First World War centenary charity, I led a team that raised £1 million to create a memorial arch to commemorate the journeys made by 10 million soldiers through the town, on their way to and from the trenches. The Arch was opened by Prince Harry in August 2014. Arts and culture are for everyone, and should be supported the length and breadth of the country, not exclusively in London.

Outside of Parliament I was co-founder of the international ‘New FIFA Now’ campaign, and as such have been one of the leading voices in the movement to clean up football around the world, remove Sepp Blatter and his cronies, and to make it harder for corrupt people to buy British football clubs. I am passionate about ensuring sport is governed openly and transparently, and have taken an active role in campaigns to achieve this, ranging from supporting fans groups in football to cleaning up doping in cycling.

My career before becoming an MP was mostly in advertising, where I worked for 10 years at M&C Saatchi. Along with Ed Vaizey, I established the Conservative Arts and Creative Industries Network which has worked with the sectors for eight years. I am also an author of a biography of Philip Sassoon, published last year. I have served on the advisory board of the Authors’ Licensing and Collecting Society and was Chairman of the APPGs for Fashion and Textiles, and the Royal Television Society.

I believe in working across the House to get to the truth, producing effective reports and making the necessary recommendations to deliver change. I am proud to have worked with colleagues from all parties in the last Parliament, such as Sharon Hodgson and Nigel Adams, to crack down on ticket touts. If re-elected I will continue to work with all colleagues to ensure that the Committee operates in the most effective manner.

Relevant interests

Advisory Board Member, Authors Licensing and Collecting Society

Payments from Harper Collins, publisher of my book 'Charmed Life, The Phenomenal World of Philip Sassoon'

Trustee, Shepway Sports Trust