Sajid Javid MP questioned on his Department's priorities

19 September 2017

The Communities and Local Government Committee takes evidence from  Ministers on Department for Communities and Local Government priorities.

Purpose of the session

The Committee questions the Secretary of State and Ministers on the Department’s work since the election, as well as its policy priorities in the new Parliament, including how the Government intends to proceed with its reforms to business rates, the adult social care green paper, and its plans for leasehold reform and wider housing policy. The Committee is also likely to seek an update on the steps the Government is taking following the Grenfell Tower fire in June, including the review of building and fire safety regulations, support to local authorities across the country as they carry out necessary remedial work, and future emergency preparedness.

Chair's comments

Clive Betts MP, Chair of the Communities and Local Government Committee, said:

"I am pleased the Committee has an early opportunity to question the Secretary of State and I’m sure Committee members will wish to place a focus on issues arising out of the fire at Grenfell Tower, including the effectiveness of building and fire safety regulations, as well as matters such as funding for local authorities and emergency planning and response issues.  We will also want to take a wider view of the Department’s work and shed light on the Government’s plans for business rate reform, housing, and the future of adult social care. I look forward to hearing from the Secretary of State and his Ministerial team about their policy priorities for the new Parliament."


Wednesday 11 October 2017, Grimond Room, Portcullis House

At 4.00pm:

  • Rt Hon. Sajid Javid MP, Secretary of State for Communities and Local Government
  • Alok Sharma MP, Minister of State for Housing and Planning, Minister for London
  • Marcus Jones MP, Parliamentary Under Secretary of State (Minister for Local Government)
  • Jake Berry MP, Parliamentary Under Secretary of State (Minister for the Northern Powerhouse) 

Further information

Image: PA

Share this page