Women in the workplace inquiry continues

13 December 2012

In Tuesday 18 December, the Business, Innovation and Skills Committee will be holding a further evidence session for its inquiry into Women in the Workplace.

Tuesday 18 December 2012

Committee Room 8, Palace of Westminster


At 9.30am:

  • Dame Jocelyn Bell Burnell DBE FRS FRAS, British astrophysicist, Chair of the Royal Society of Edinburgh’s inquiry into Women in Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM)
  • Kate Sloyan, Doctoral Prize Fellow in the Optoelectronics Research Centre, University of Southampton, and the Institute of Physics’ 2012 Very Early Career Woman Physicist of the Year Award
  • Helen Wollaston, Director, and Trudy Norris Grey, Chair, the Women in Science and Engineering (WISE) Campaign

At 10.00am:

  •  Aurel Ciobanu-Dordea, Director, DG Justice, Directorate D Equality, European Commission

At 10.30am:

  • Claire Martinsen, founder, Breckland Orchard
  • Emma Heathcote-James, founder, Little Soap Company
  • Mike Cherry, Policy Chairman, Federation of Small Businesses

At 11.00am:

  • Baroness Margaret Prosser of Battersea, former Deputy Chair and also former Interim Chair, Mark Hammond, Chief Executive Officer, and Karen Jockelson,  Director of the Economy and Employment Programme, Equality and Human Rights Commission

The sessions will be open to the public on a first come, first served basis. There is no system for the prior reservation of seats in Committee Rooms. It is advisable to allow about 20 minutes to pass through security checks. Committee Rooms and timings are subject to change.

Image: iStockphoto

Share this page