The Future of Higher Education: further information page

Terms of reference & written evidence

The inquiry was announced on 15 February 2011 and written evidence was invited for submissions of up to 3,000 words. The deadline for the submission of evidence was 10 March 2011.

Parliament TV

You can watch previous evidence sessions of the Committee via the Parliamentary webcast:

Oral Evidence

The following evidence sessions have been held for this inquiry:

Tuesday 22 March 2011

At 11.00am:

  • Lord Browne of Madingley, FRS FREng, Chairman, Independent Review of Higher Education Funding and Student Finance

Tuesday 29 March 2011

At 10.30am:

  • Professor Ruth Farwell, Chair, GuildHE
  • Professor Les Ebdon CBE, Chair, million+
  • Professor Colin Riordan, Universities UK
  • Professor Michael Arthur, Chair, The Russell Group
  • Professor Simon Gaskell, The 1994 Group
  • Libby Aston, Director, University Alliance

Tuesday 5 April 2011

At 10.30am:

  •  Aaron Porter, President, National Union of Students (NUS)

At 11.30am:

  • Sally Hunt, General Secretary, University and College Union
  • Mike Robinson, National Officer for Education, Unite the Union
  • Jon Richards, Head of Higher Education, UNISON

At 12.30pm:

  • Daryn McCombe, student reviewer, and Rebecca Watson, student reviewer, Quality Assurance Agency (QAA)

Tuesday 3 May 2011

At 10.30am:

  • Peter Roberts, Principal of Leeds City College, 157 Group
  • Martin Bean, Vice-Chancellor, Open University
  • Martin Doel, Chief Executive, Association of Colleges
  • Dr May Bousted, General Secretary, Association of Teachers and Lecturers
  • Sir Peter Lampl, Chairman, The Sutton Trust

Tuesday 10 May 2011

At 10.30am:

  • Sir Alan Langlands, Chief Executive, Higher Education Funding Council for England
  • Sir Martin Harris, Director of Fair Access
  • Mary Curnock Cook OBE, Chief Executive, Universities and Colleges Admissions Service (UCAS)

At 11.45am:

  • Bahram Bekhradnia, Higher Education Policy Institute

Tuesday 17 May 2011

At 10.30am:

  • Lorraine Dearden, Institute for Fiscal Studies
  • Nicholas Barr, London School of Economics
  • Gavan Conlon, London Economics

At 11.45am:

  • Carl Gilleard, Chief Executive, Association of Graduate Recruiters
  • Matthew Jaffa, Deputy Head of Policy, Federation of Small Businesses
  • Oliver Tant, Head of Audit, KPMG

Tuesday 24 May 2011

At 10.00am:

  • Professor Carl Lygo, Chief Executive, BPP Holdings & Principal, BPP University College of Professional Studies Ltd
  • Professor Terence Kealey, Vice Chancellor, University of Buckingham
  • Mr Valery Kisilevsky, Group Managing Director, London School of Business and Finance

At 10.45am:

  • Rob Behrens, Independent Adjudicator and Chief Executive, Office of the Independent Adjudicator
  • Anthony McClaran, Chief Executive, Quality Assurance Agency
  • Professor Steve Bristow, Senior Advisor, (Quality Assurance and Governance) British Accreditation Council

Monday 18 July 2011

At 3.00pm:

  • Rt Hon Simon Hughes MP, recently Advocate for Access to Higher Education

At 3.30pm:

  • Rt Hon David Willetts MP, Minister for Universities and Science, Department for Business, Innovation and Skills