Open Access: further information page

Terms of reference & written evidence

The inquiry was announced on 18 January 2013 and written evidence was invited for submissions of up to 3,000 words. The original deadline for the submission of evidence of 7 February 2013.

Parliament TV

You can watch previous evidence sessions of the Committee via the Parliamentary webcast:

Oral Evidence

The following evidence sessions have been held for this inquiry:

Tuesday 16 April 2013

At 9.30am:

  • Dr Audrey McCulloch, Chief Executive, Association of Learned and Professional Society Publishers
  • Professor Chris Wickham, Vice-President and Publications Secretary, the British Academy
  • Cameron Neylon, Advocacy Director, Public Library of Science
  • Dr Alicia Wise, Director of Universal Access, Reed Elsevier

At 10.30am:

  • Professor Stevan Harnad
  • David Sweeney, Director (Research, Innovation and Skills) HEFCE
  • Professor Douglas Kell, Information Champion, RCUK
  • Dr Alma Swan, Key Perspectives Consultancy and Director of Advocacy, SPARC Europe

At 12.00pm:

  • Dr Martin Paul Eve
  • Professor Andrew Massey, Political Studies Association
  • Professor Ian Walmsley, Pro Vice-Chancellor for Research at Oxford University, the Russell Group
  • Professor Sir Ian Diamond, Chair of Universities UK’s Research Policy Network

Tuesday 14 May 2013

At 11.30am:

  • Rt Hon. David Willetts MP, Minister for Universities and Science
  • Ron Egginton C Eng MBA, Head BBSRC and ESRC Team Research Funding Unit, BIS Observer on the Finch working group