Debt Management: further information page

Terms of reference & written evidence

The inquiry was announced on 14 October 2011. The deadline for the submission of evidence was 14 November 2011.

Parliament TV

You can watch previous evidence sessions of the Committee via the Parliamentary webcast:

Oral Evidence

The following evidence sessions have been held for this inquiry:

Tuesday 22 November 2011

At 10.30am:

  • Joanna Elson, Chief Executive, Money Advice Trust
  • Professor Iain Ramsay, University of Kent
  • Dr John Gathergood, University of Nottingham

At 11.30 am:

  • Sarah Brooks, Director of Financial Service, Consumer Focus
  • Teresa Perchard, Director of Policy, Citizens Advice
  • Delroy Corinaldi, Director of External Affairs, Consumer Credit Counselling Service
  • Martin Lewis, Money Saving Expert

Tuesday 29 November 2011

At 10.45am:

  • Peter Crook, Chief Executive, Provident Financial Plc
  • John Lamidey MBE, Chief Executive Officer, Consumer Finance Association
  • Caroline Walton, Corporate Affairs Director, Dollar Financial UK Ltd
  • Mark Lyonette, Chief Executive, Association of British Credit Unions Limited (ABCUL)
  • Des Milligan, Chief Executive, National Pawnbrokers Association 

At 11.45 am

  • John Fairhurst, Managing Director, Payplan
  • Richard Wharton, Director, General Secretary and co founder, Debt Managers Standards Association
  • Melanie Taylor, Head of Corporate Relations, Gregory Pennington
  • Chris Davis, Chief Executive Officer, MoneyPlus Group
  • Andrew Smith, Director of Marketing and External Affairs, Debt Resolution Forum

Tuesday 13 December 2011

At 10.30am:

  • Tony Hobman, Chief Executive Officer, and Lesley Robinson, Director of Corporate Services, Money Advice Service

At 11.00am:

  • Vivienne Dews, Executive Director, and David Fisher, Director-Credit Group, Office of Fair Trading

At 11.45am:

  • Edward Davey MP, Minister for Employment Relations, Consumer and Postal Affairs, Department for Business, Innovation and Skills