Rachel Reeves elected as Chair

12 July 2017

The new Chair of the Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy Committee is Rachel Reeves.

Following nominations and elections among MPs, Rachel Reeves has been elected Chair of the committee for the 2017 Parliament.

The secret ballot of MPs took place on Wednesday, 12th July. Votes were counted under the Alternative Vote system.

The full list of elected committee chairs for the new Parliament was announced in the House of Commons by the Speaker, the Rt Hon John Bercow. All successful candidates are listed here.

Rachel Reeves will formally take up position as chair of the committee when the remaining members of the committee have been named by the House.

Following her election as Chair, Rachel Reeves said:

"I am honoured to be elected Chair of the BEIS Committee and look forward to building on the work of Iain Wright and committee members in the last Parliament. The BEIS Committee has a crucial role to play in developing an industrial strategy that that works for all regions of England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland. I look forward to working with Committee colleagues to fulfil this role and ensure that we are robust in holding Government to account for their policies and actions.

As a Committee, there are a number of issues I believe we will want to consider for future inquiries. Ensuring that we develop sustainable growth and climate change policies that help create new and well paid jobs should be a priority for the Committee. Shining a light on diversity at the top levels of our businesses and tackling the gender, disability and BAME pay gaps should be on the Committee's agenda. Scrutinising the Government's approach to the challenges of the 'gig economy' and the growth of self-employment and how to deliver fairness and flexibility in the British labour market should also be an area of interest for the Committee."

Here is a breakdown of the result:

1st round  2nd round
Liam Byrne 149 165
Ian C. Lucas


Albert Owen 97 109

Rachel Reeves

277 291 Elected
Not redistributed 8

Further information

Image: Parliamentary copyright

Share this page