MPs debated the Nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty

MPs debated the Nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty
09 March 2015

On Monday 9 March, MPs took part in a general debate relating to the forthcoming Nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty Review Conference. This debate was scheduled by the Backbench Business Committee.

The Members in charge for this debate were Margaret Beckett, Labour MP for Derby South; Jeremy Corbyn, Labour MP for Islington North; Dr Julian Lewis, Conservative MP for New Forest East; Sir Nick Harvey, Liberal Democrat MP for North Devon; and Paul Flynn, Labour MP for Newport West.

Watch the debate and read the transcript

The debate was opened by Margaret Beckett. Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs, Tobias Ellwood, responded to the debate on behalf of the Government.

Backbench Business Committee

The Backbench Business Committee meets weekly on Tuesdays to consider requests for debates from any backbench Members of Parliament on any subject, including those raised in e-petitions or national campaigns.

An MP must make a representation before the Committee for an e-petition or petition to be debated; e-petitions exceeding the Government's 100,000 signature threshold are not automatically allocated backbench time.

The Committee then has to decide how to allocate the limited Parliamentary time it has at its disposal. The Committee's meetings are always conducted in public and can be watched on Parliament TV.

Further Information

Image: Parliamentary copyright

More news on: Parliament, government and politics, Parliament, Defence, Defence policy, Commons news, Committee news

Share this page