MPs to debate school funding formula

MPs to debate school funding formula
10 March 2015

On Tuesday 10 March, MPs took part in a debate a motion on schools funding formula. This debate was scheduled by the Backbench Business Committee. The Members in charge for this debate are Robin Walker, Nic Dakin, Sir Nick Harvey and Graham Stuart.

Watch the debate and read the transcript

This backbench business debate was the last item of main business on Tuesday (prior to the Adjournment Debate) and followed the debate on the motion on subsidiarity and proportionality and the Commission's relations with national parliaments. The debate will be opened by Robin Walker, Conservative MP for Worcester.

Text of the motion

MPs will debate the following motion:

"That this House believes that, given the continued fiscal pressure on the schools budget in the next Parliament, the speedy implementation of a fair and transparent schools funding formula is more urgent than ever."

Backbench Business Committee

The Backbench Business Committee meets weekly on Tuesdays to consider requests for debates from any backbench Members of Parliament on any subject, including those raised in e-petitions or national campaigns.

An MP must make a representation before the Committee for an e-petition or petition to be debated; e-petitions exceeding the Government's 100,000 signature threshold are not automatically allocated backbench time.

The Committee then has to decide how to allocate the limited Parliamentary time it has at its disposal. The Committee's meetings are always conducted in public and can be watched on Parliament TV.

Further Information

Image: iStockphoto

More news on: Parliament, government and politics, Parliament, Education, Schools, Commons news, Committee news

Share this page