Election of new members of Backbench Business Committee

09 November 2010

Nominations for the election of two Labour Members of the Backbench Business Committee closed on 8 November 2010.

Two nominations were received for the two vacant positions. There will therefore not be a ballot today (Tuesday 9 November) and Ian Mearns and Mr George Mudie have been elected as Members of the Committee.

Nominations were called for because two Labour members of the Backbench Business Committee, Alison Seabeck and David Anderson, were recently promoted to serve on the opposition front bench. Their promotion meant they were unable to continue to serve on the Backbench Business Committee.

Under Standing Order No.122D(3)(b) the Speaker gave notice that valid candidatures could only be received from Labour MPs.

Further Information

Image: Parliamentary copyright

More news on: Parliament, government and politics, Parliament, House of Commons news, Commons news, Parliamentary business, Committee news

Share this page