Call for specialist advisor - catering services

15 September 2010

The Administration Committee has launched an inquiry into catering services in the House of Commons. In preparation for the inquiry, the Committee is seeking a specialist advisor with experience in the catering industry.

The House of Commons Administration Committee announced an inquiry into Catering Services on 8 September. The terms of reference were to:

  • review access to catering and retail services, including considering opportunities to widen access to under-used services, and the risks and benefits that might arise
  • consult on what Members, their staff, staff of the House and other users of services need and prefer
  • consider the relationship between the House of Lords’ and the House of Commons’ catering services
  • consider how catering and retail services might be improved without requiring the expenditure of additional resources

The Committee is considering appointing a specialist advisor for the inquiry with experience of working in catering in the private and/or public sector to provide advice to the Committee. The successful candidate may also be expected to provide drafting assistance and background information, and to attend some Committee meetings. A per diem allowance is available for the work, which is expected to require a few hours per week until the early spring of 2011.

If you would like to be considered for the post, please send a current CV and short covering letter to:

David Weir, Administration Committee, House of Commons, London, SW1A 0AA

Closing date for applications to be received is: 4 October 2010.

Further information

Committee Membership is as follows:

  • Sir Alan Haselhurst (Chair) (Conservative)
  • Geoffrey Clifton-Brown (Conservative)
  • Rosie Cooper (Labour)
  • Frank Dobson (Labour)
  • Thomas Docherty (Labour)
  • Gemma Doyle (Labour)
  • Mr Mark Francois (Conservative)
  • Mrs Siân C. James (Labour)
  • Dr Phillip Lee (Conservative)
  • Nigel Mills (Conservative)
  • Tessa Munt (Liberal Democrat)
  • Sarah Newton (Conservative)
  • Bob Russell (Liberal Democrat)
  • Mr Shailesh Vara (Conservative)
  • Mr Dave Watts (Labour)
  • Mike Weatherley (Conservative)

Image: Parliamentary copyright

Share this page