Skip to main content

Dissolution of Parliament

The dissolution of Parliament took place on Thursday 30 May 2024. All business in the House of Commons and House of Lords has come to an end. There are currently no MPs and every seat in the Commons is vacant until after the general election on 4 July 2024.

Find out more about:

Women Deputy Speakers and chairs of general committees (Commons)

In the Commons, two women serve as Deputy Speakers and a further 16 women have been selected to serve on the Panel of Chairs as at 1 November 2020.