Skip to main content

Sir Winston Churchill

Winston Leonard Spencer Churchill (1874-1965) first took his seat in Parliament on 14 February 1901 as MP for Oldham. He held various high ministerial offices before becoming Prime Minister during the Second World War, from 1940 to 1945, and again from 1951 to 1955. He died soon after he ceased to be a Member of the House of Commons in 1964, and shortly after his ninetieth birthday.