Skip to main content

The State Opening of Parliament 

The UK general election took place on Thursday 4 July 2024. The new Parliament met on Tuesday 9 July 2024 for the election of the Speaker and swearing-in of MPs and Lords. The State Opening of Parliament and The King’s Speech will take place on Wednesday 17 July 2024.

Find out more about:

View the 2024 general election results.

Conference member: T P O'Connor MP

Thomas Power O'Connor (1848-1929) was a journalist and MP. Initially elected for Galway, he then became the only MP to be elected as an Irish Nationalist for an English constituency, Liverpool Scotland, between 1885 and 1929.

O'Connor had a mixed record on women's suffrage, voting for a suffrage bill in 1909, but against another in 1913. This was in common with most other Irish Nationalist MPs, who were not prepared to risk Home Rule for another controversial issue during a difficult period before the First World War. However, his wife Elizabeth Paschal O'Connor, an author and playwright from Texas, USA, was a member of the suffragette organisation the Women's Freedom League. She was co-editor of the first edition of its paper, 'The Vote', in 1909.


'Tay Pay'


After Spy (Leslie Ward)




Colour lithograph

Catalogue number

Parliamentary Art Collection, WOA 3270