Skip to main content

Dissolution of Parliament

The dissolution of Parliament took place on Thursday 30 May 2024. All business in the House of Commons and House of Lords has come to an end. There are currently no MPs and every seat in the Commons is vacant until after the general election on 4 July 2024.

Find out more about:

Coronation Order of Service, 1953

The Queen succeeded to the throne upon the death of her father King George VI on 6 February 1952 and was crowned at Westminster Abbey over a year later, on 2 June 1953. This is the form and order of service for the ceremony.
The Coronation service fell into six basic parts: the recognition, the oath, the anointing, the investiture, which includes the crowning, the enthronement and the homage. The oath is taken from the 1689 Coronation Oath Act.



Coronation Order of Service



Catalogue number

Parliamentary Archives, LGC/8/1/21