Skip to main content

Dissolution of Parliament

The dissolution of Parliament took place on Thursday 30 May 2024. All business in the House of Commons and House of Lords has come to an end. There are currently no MPs and every seat in the Commons is vacant until after the general election on 4 July 2024.

Find out more about:

Simon De Montfort's parliament

Simon de Montfort held two parliaments during his time in power. The second of these took place at Westminster between January and March 1265, and was the first parliament at which representatives of the cities and boroughs were present alongside knights representing their counties to discuss matters of national concern as opposed to granting taxation. 

Who was summoned to Simon de Montfort's parliament?

Montfort's second Parliament was summoned on 14th December 1264. Summoned were 23 lay magnates, 120 bishops, two knights from each county and two citizens from each town. Also summoned were four men from each of the Cinque Ports. The Parliament began on 20th January 1265, and would be the longest of Montfort's leadership. The Parliament was summoned to discuss arrangements for Prince Edward's release. 

The composition of  those attending the Parliament was significant because it formed the basis of a more representative democracy – the make up of Montfort's Parliament can be linked to the House of Commons as we know it today.


You can access biographies of

King John
Henry III
Simon de Montfort, 8th earl of Leicester
Edward I

from the Oxford Dictionary of National Biography for free, online, using your local library card number (includes nine out of ten public libraries in the UK) or from within academic library and other subscribing networks.

750 twitter

Parliament750 twitter

@Parliament750 is a new twitter account led by the Parliamentary Archives. The feed will run throughout 2015 to commemorate the 750th anniversary of Simon de Montfort's parliament.

Find out more