Skip to main content

Dissolution of Parliament

The dissolution of Parliament took place on Thursday 30 May 2024. All business in the House of Commons and House of Lords has come to an end. There are currently no MPs and every seat in the Commons is vacant until after the general election on 4 July 2024.

Find out more about:

Papers relating to the London Conference 1865

The 1867 British North America Act united New Brunswick, Nova Scotia and the Province of Canada and was a major step in the creation of one united dominion; Canada.
Three conferences took place in Charlottetown, Quebec and London to discuss and develop resolutions for uniting the colonies. Key players in the establishment of Confederation included George-Étienne Cartier, George Brown and John A. Macdonald. Cartier and Brown promoted Confederation within the Province of Canada, and Macdonald implemented the new legislation, becoming the first prime minister of Canada.
These papers relate to the London Conference and were laid before the House of Lords on 19 June 1865. In the Westminster Hotel where the meeting took place, the 72 resolutions were passed into legislation. This included outlines for a national parliament modelled on the British parliament. Confederation came into force on 1 July 1867 with the passing of the British North America Act.


Canada, papers respecting, papers relating to conferences etc


19th June 1865

Catalogue number

Parliamentary Archives, HL/PO/JO/10/9/568