Skip to main content

British North America Act 1867

The British North America Act received Royal Assent on 29th March 1867 and went into effect 1st July 1867. The Act united the three separate territories of Canada, Nova Scotia and New Brunswick into a single dominion called Canada. Provision was made for other colonies and territories of British North America to negotiate their entry into the Union. The Act divided the province of Canada into Quebec and Ontario. A new federal government and Parliament was established in Ottawa together with provincial governments' legislatives. The Act established that the dominion remained under the sovereignty of the British Monarch and served as Canada's constitution until 1982.


An Act for the Union of Canada, Nova Scotia, and New Brunswick, and the Government thereof; and for Purposes connected therewith



Catalogue number

Parliamentary Archives, HL/PO/PU/1/1867/30&31V1n5