Skip to main content

The State Opening of Parliament 

The UK general election took place on Thursday 4 July 2024. The new Parliament met on Tuesday 9 July 2024 for the election of the Speaker and swearing-in of MPs and Lords. The State Opening of Parliament and The King’s Speech will take place on Wednesday 17 July 2024.

Find out more about:

View the 2024 general election results.

Act of Union 1707: Key dates

When was the Union of the Crowns? Key dates in the history of union between Scotland and England.

1603 – Elizabeth I dies and James VI of Scotland becomes James I of England.  The Kingdoms remain separate but are ruled by a single monarch.

1688/89 – the Glorious Revolution sees Catholic James II deposed in favour of his Protestant daughter Mary and her husband William of Orange

1700 - William, duke of Gloucester, William and Mary's nephew and heir presumptive, dies aged II.  Failure of the Darien Scheme.

1701 – James Edward Stuart, son of the deposed James II (known as the Old Pretender in England), recognised as heir to the English and Scottish thrones by Louis XIV of France.  The Act of Settlement in England leaves Scotland to make its own choice of succeeding monarch.

March 1702 – William III dies.

November 1702 – Queen Anne, William's sister-in-law, opens negotiations with the Scottish Parliament.

1703-1704 Stormy negotiations end in deadlock

1705 - The Aliens Act restricts Scottish trade with England.  Commissioners for Union appointed.

1706 - First proposal for a united kingdom to be called “Great Britain” is laid on the table.  July – the sealed Articles of Union are presented to Queen Anne.

1707 -  January – the Articles are ratified by the Scottish Parliament. March – the Articles are ratified by the English Parliament. May – the Act becomes law in both countries, now united into one kingdom.

1715 – First Jacobite Rebellion in favour of the Old Pretender.

1745 – Second Jacobite Uprising.  Bonnie Prince Charlie - the Young Pretender - defeated.

1746 - The clan system is dismantled by Act of Parliament.