Skip to main content

The State Opening of Parliament 

The UK general election took place on Thursday 4 July 2024. The new Parliament met on Tuesday 9 July 2024 for the election of the Speaker and swearing-in of MPs and Lords. The State Opening of Parliament and The King’s Speech will take place on Wednesday 17 July 2024.

Find out more about:

View the 2024 general election results.

Palace's interiors

Robing Room

What is the purpose of the Robing room, and what are the room's unique features?

Royal Gallery
Featured page image

The Royal Gallery is used for important occasions such as state receptions and parliamentary ceremonies. Find out more about the distinctive furnishings of this room

Lords Chamber

Read about the Lords Chamber, one of the most spectacular rooms in the Palace of Westminster

Central Lobby

Why was the Central Lobby built? Find out more about the spectacular heart of Parliament

Members Lobby Churchill Arch

What is the purpose of the Members' Lobby? And why is the arch leading into the Commons Chamber known as the Churchill arch?

Commons Chamber

Why does the Commons Chamber look comparatively austere to that of the Lords? Learn more about the present Chamber

Speaker's Chair

What happened to the Speaker's Chair when the Commons Chamber was destroyed by bombs in 1941?

St Stephen's Hall

What does St Stephen's Hall contain? Find out more about the present incarnation of the building that was once the first permanent home of the House of Commons

The Cloisters

What are the cloisters to St Stephen's Chapel and who uses them today?

Statues In Palace

What statues do the Palace of Westminster contain? Why did they pose a problem to its architect?

Works Of Art In Palace

Learn more about the stunning paintings in the Palace of Westminster, and the rich history they portray

Related information

Take a virtual tour of the Palace

Also within Living Heritage

Key Dates, 1834 to the Present Day: Need a quick overview? Find out about the events that shaped the development of the Palace of Westminster.