Skip to main content

Dissolution of Parliament

The dissolution of Parliament took place on Thursday 30 May 2024. All business in the House of Commons and House of Lords has come to an end. There are currently no MPs and every seat in the Commons is vacant until after the general election on 4 July 2024.

Find out more about:

Heraldic shields to MPs, First World War

There are 42 heraldic shields in the House of Commons Chamber commemorating each of the MPs killed during both World Wars.

This blue shield states that there are 19 shields for MPs who fell during the First World War.

Location: House of Commons Chamber

Second World War Heraldic Shields

List of names on the First World War Heraldic Shields


Heraldic shield