Skip to main content

Parliamentarians at the Olympic and Paralympic Games: full list

A number of members of the House of Lords and House of Commons, past and present, have competed in the Olympic and Paralympic Games. 

  • John Pius Boland (1870-1958); MP for South Kerry 1900-1918

Won gold medals in both the singles and doubles in lawn tennis in the 1896 Olympics in Athens.

  • Rt Hon Col. John Gretton, Baron Gretton (1867-1947); MP for Derbyshire South 1895-1906, Rutland 1907-1918, and Burton 1918-1943, entered House of Lords 1944

Won a gold medal for sailing in the 1900 Olympics in France, whilst serving as an MP.

  • John Jacob Astor, first Baron Astor of Hever (1886–1971); MP for Dover 1922-1945, entered House of Lords 1956

Won a gold medal in the doubles and a bronze in the singles in raquets at the 1908 London Olympics.

  • John Wodehouse, Lord Wodehouse, 3rd Earl of Kimberley (1883-1941); MP for Mid-Norfolk 1906-1910, entered House of Lords 1932

Won a silver medal at the 1908 London Olympics, and a gold medal at the 1920 Olympics, for polo.

  • Sir Philip Richardson (1865-1953); MP for Chertsey 1922-1931

Won a silver medal at the 1908 London Olympics for shooting. 

  • Philip Noel-Baker, Baron Noel-Baker (1889-1982), MP for Coventry 1929-31, and Derby/Derby South 1936-70, entered House of Lords 1977

Ran for Britain at the Stockholm Olympic Games in 1912, and was team manager as well as a competitor for the British track team for the 1920 and 1924 Olympics.

  • Rt Hon Robert Bourne (1888-1939), MP for Oxford City 1924-1938

Won silver for rowing as part of the Men's Eights in the 1912 Olympics.

  • Walter James, 4th Baron Northbourne (1896-1982); entered House of Lords 1932

Won silver for rowing as part of the Men's Eights in the 1920 Olympics.

  • David Cecil, Lord Burghley, 6th Marquess of Exeter (1905-1981); MP for Peterborough 1931-43, entered House of Lords 1956

Won a gold medal in the 400m hurdles at the 1928 Olympics in Amsterdam and silver for the 4x400m relay in 1932.  Also came 5th, 110 metre hurdles, 4th, 400 metre hurdles, and 2nd, 4x400 metres in 1932.

  • Davina Ingrams, 18th Baroness Darcy de Knayth (1938-2008), entered House of Lords 1969

Won a gold medal in the 25m backstroke at the 1968 Paralympics in Tel Aviv and bronze for the women's team table tennis at the 1972 Paralympics in Heidelberg.

Won a gold medal in the 25 metres breaststroke at the 1960 Paralympic Games in Rome, a gold medal in women's doubles table tennis at the 1964 Paralympic Games in Tokyo, and also competed at the 1968 Paralympic Games in Tel Aviv.

Ran for Britain at the Olympic Games in 1948 and 1952.

Lord Higgins: Olympic competitor's blazer badge and tie

  •  Sir Christopher Chataway (b1931); MP for Lewisham North 1959-66 and Chichester 1969-74

Long-distance runner. Competed in the 5,000 metres final in the Helsinki Olympic Games in 1952.

Competed for the Great Britain team in the 200 metres and 4x100 metres relay at the 1964 Olympics in Tokyo.

Sir Menzies Campbell: Olympic running vest and blazer

Won a gold medal for Bobsleigh at the Winter Olympics in Innsbruck in 1964.

Lord Glentoran: Olympic gold medal for bobsleigh

Won silver for rowing, as cox of the Great Britain VIII, in 1980 Moscow Olympics.

Lord Moynihan: Olympic silver medal for Rowing (Eights)
The Moynihan Collection of Olympic Memorabilia

Won gold for 1,500m and silver for 800m in both 1980 and 1984 Olympics.

Lord Coe: Olympic running shoes

Paralympic Games:
2004 Athens - 2 Gold medals in the 100m, and 400m
2000 Sydney - 4 Gold medals in the 100m, 200m, 400m, and 800m
1996 Atlanta - 1 Gold medal in the 800m. 3 Silver medals in the 100m, 200m, and 400m
1992 Barcelona - 4 Gold medals in the 100m, 200m, 400m and 800m
1988 Seoul - 1 Bronze medal 400m

Tanni Grey-Thompson's website

Won 9 golds, 5 silvers and 1 bronze in swimming at the Paralympic Games between 1988 and 2000, including a record six gold medals at a single Paralympics in Barcelona 1992. He was also LOCOG's Director of Paralympic Integration, responsible for the organisation of the 2012 Paralympic Games.

Lord Holmes's website

Thanks to the Conservative History Group for some of this information. Do you know of any Parliamentary Olympians not on our list? Contact us and let us know.


Explore the Parliamentary Collections for images and documents from the Parliamentary Archives about the Olympic Games